top of page


There are five elements to every asana. These are:

  1. the joint positions: this will guide you to the muscles to engage                                                                   

  2. the muscles that engage to produce these positions: identify the prime mover muscles(protagonists) and contract them to align and stabilize the skeleton                                                                                     

  3. the muscles that stretch(antagonists) to create flexibility                                                                                 

  4. the breath: expand the chest                                                                                                                                

  5. the bandhas to produce stability in the pose, "locks",strengthen the muscles and stimulate the nervous system

Leg Stretching Yoga Pose
bottom of page